Connecting information professionals across upstate New York.

Categorized | SLA

SLA Twitter Chat – Teach Your Users to Fish

The fourth #SLAtalk session will take place Tuesday, June 4th, and will be jointly hosted by SLA and ProQuest & Dialog. They’re sponsoring the social media lounge at SLA 2013, and we’re pleased to have them lending their expertise to this topic.

You’re probably familiar with the Chinese proverb, “Give a man a fish and you feed him for a day. Teach a man to fish and you feed him for a lifetime.” 

As information professionals, it’s imperative that we teach our users to fish. Whether your users are engineers, attorneys, students or even business moguls —

  • How do you connect them with your resources?
  • What instructional tactics do you employ to teach research skills that will last users a lifetime?

SLAtalkTwitterWhen:
2 choices on Tuesday, June 4th:
-Session #1 at 17:30 UTC (1:30 PM eastern / 10:30 AM pacific)
-Session #2 at 12:00 midnight UTC (7:00 PM eastern / 4:00 PM pacific)

Questions to Answer:

  1. 1. How do you create awareness and promote your organization’s available resources to your users?
  2. 2. How is resource training handled in your library or info center, for new and/or existing employees?
  3. 3. For fee-based resources, how do you educate your users on the costs associated with research?
  4. 4. Do you have any tips or tricks on how to turn a reference inquiry into a “teachable moment?”

In the spirit of organization:

Try to tweet your answers to question 1 during the first 15-minutes of your session, answers to question 2 in the second 15-minutes of your session, and so on. You can take your queue to move on from the @SLAhq handle, which will tweet the appropriate question at the start of each 15-minute interval.

New here?

Check out How to #SLAtalk and the recaps of the first and second sessions.

Following the session:

Stay tuned to the SLA Blog where we’ll post a collection of great answers, as well as the link to all the tweets from the session. Notice your tweet being favorited from @SLAhq? You’ll probably be featured in our round-up.

Comments are closed.

Get Involved with UNYSLA!

There are several ways to get involved including conference planning, board positions, networking events, and so much more! Send any inquiries to anyone listed on our About page or fill out our Contact Us form.

Quick Links

Thank you to our sponsors!

Thanks to our Sponsor!


Thanks to our sponsor, Ebsco Health! Interested in becoming a sponsor? Find out how.

Archived Posts